The Curse Of Katyn

A huge national tragedy for Poland today (10/4/10). A Polish Air Force Tu-154, carrying many of their most prominent leaders (including their President and First Lady), crashed in thick fog just short of the runway in Smolensk, Russia. It is a twisted irony that the dignitaries were flying to Russia to commemorate the Katyn massacre, and even more of a twisted irony that Putin will head the Russian investigation into the crash. A man who wishes Poland was still under Soviet domination.

The death toll is all 96 people on board. This extract from the flight manifest shows the magnitude of the tragedy for Poland:

Lech Kaczyński, the President of Poland
Maria Kaczyńska, the first lady
Ryszard Kaczorowski, the last President of the Polish government-in-exile
Jerzy Szmajdziński, Deputy Speaker of the Sejm
Władysław Stasiak, Chief of the Office of the President of the Republic of Poland
Aleksander Szczygło, head of the National Security Bureau
Paweł Wypych, Secretary of State in the Office of the President of the Republic of Poland
Mariusz Handzlik, Undersecretary of State in the Office of the President of the Republic of Poland
Andrzej Kremer, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs
General Franciszek Gągor, Chief of the Polish Army General Staff
Andrzej Przewoźnik, Secretary-General of the Council for the Defence of the Memory of Struggle and Suffering
Grzegorz Dolniak, member of the Sejm
Przemysław Gosiewski, member of the Sejm
Izabela Jaruga-Nowacka, member of the Sejm
Zbigniew Wassermann, member of the Sejm
Leszek Deptuła, member of the Sejm
Grażyna Gęsicka, member of the Sejm
Sebastian Karpiniuk, member of the Sejm
Aleksandra Natalli-Świat, member of the Sejm
Arkadiusz Rybicki, member of the Sejm
Jolanta Szymanek-Deresz, member of the Sejm
Wiesław Woda, member of the Sejm
Edward Wojtas, member of the Sejm
Janina Fetlińska, member of the Senat
Stanisław Zając, member of the Senat
Janusz Kochanowski, Polish Ombudsman
Sławomir Skrzypek, President of the National Bank of Poland
Janusz Kurtyka, Historian and president of the Institute of National Remembrance
Tadeusz Płoski, Bishop of the Military Ordinariate of the Polish Army
Piotr Nurowski, President of the Polish Olympic Committee
Ryszard Rumianek – Rector of the Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University in Warsaw
Jerzy Bahr, Ambassador of Poland to Russia
Krystyna Bochenek, Deputy Speaker of the Senat
Vice Admiral Andrzej Karweta, Commander-in-chief of the Polish Navy
Maciej Płażyński, President of the Polish Community association
Krzysztof Putra, member of the Sejm

‘Polish President Lech Kaczynski dies in plane crash’

‘Obituary/ Lech Kaczynski’

‘2010 Polish Air Force Tu-154 crash’

10 April, 2010


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: