Spielberg’s Change of Heart On E.T.

E.T.: "Be good"

Thankyou, Mr. Spielberg! At least one movie director is man enough to admit when he’s made a mistake, and correct it.

Spielberg: “For myself, I tried [changing a film] once and lived to regret it. Not because of fan outrage, but because I was disappointed in myself. I got overly sensitive to [some of the reaction] to E.T., and I thought if technology evolved, [I might go in and change some things]…it was OK for a while, but I realized what I had done was I had robbed people who loved E.T. of their memories of E.T. […] If I put just one cut of E.T. on Blu-ray and it was the 1982, would anyone object to that? [The crowd yells “NO!” in unison.] OK, so be it.”

Steven Spielberg Finally Admits the Walkie-Talkies Were a Mistake
http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/the-projector/steven-spielberg-finally-admits-walkie-talkies-were-mistake-142746809.html

“The fact that George Lucas has made changes to the original films is not the root of the problem (although there are plenty who wish he hadn’t). It is the fact that he is not making those original versions available, which is causing all the fuss.”

Why Star Wars should be left to the fans
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-14944240

‘Star Wars’ Blu-ray Controversy: Has George Lucas Made Two Terrible Audio Alterations to the Original Trilogy?
http://www.slashfilm.com/star-wars-bluray-controversy-george-lucas/

George Lucas — The Farce Is With Him
https://simonjmeath.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/george-lucas-—-the-farce-is-with-him/

Leave a Reply

